Pork Shoppe

Chicago has a new BBQ joint and it is just down the street from your favorite metal burger bar and gourmet hot dog joints. With neighbors like that you better bring your A game and these guys have.

Unlike it’s two famous neighbors Pork Shoppe has a straight forward menu. This does not mean it cannot hold its own taste wise as I found their menu to be on par with my other beloved BBQ restaurants.

I had the pulled pork as a “Sammy” (an extra $2) with their sweet and spicy corn bread on the side. The pork was very tender and had good flavor. I went with a smothering of their tangy sauce, and added the wicked as I ate through it. The Tangy is just that tangy, and tasty. The wicked has a good little kick to it with a nice after burn, but is not over powering. I did not try their third, and last option of sweet.

The corn bread is traditional with a spicy kick that when smothered in butter is a damn fine amalgamation of corn bread and jalapeno bread. My friend got the baked beans and found them lacking, but a third friend loved his mac and cheese.

The place itself is small and welcoming; with a nice staff, great music (if you like classics such as the Ramones and Otis Redding), and two dollar PBR.

I will be going there and I recommend you try it.

Leave a Reply

